Here’s Cuyahoga County: A Manual on Understanding Our Government

by Christopher Harris , Communications Specialist

heresCuyahogaCountyDo you know the role of the Inspector General? Do you understand how the bed tax works? Did you know Cuyahoga County only has two townships and 59 municipalities (although throughout the state of Ohio there are more townships than municipalities)?

Well if you have an interest in learning about Cuyahoga County Government or need to brush up on your history – look no further.

Here’s Cuyahoga County is a resourceful guide for understanding how Cuyahoga County Government and its many public agencies work. The guide provides an overview of history, local governments, and functions and services of county government. Additional topics include:

  • Regionalism
  • Justice and the Courts
  • Parks, Conservation, and Recreation
  • Elections
  • Social and Health Services
  • and more!

This publication was created by the League of Women Voters of Greater Cleveland (LWVGC), a nonpartisan political organization, that encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government. This is the fifth edition of Here’s Cuyahoga County, and it has been updated to include the county government’s structural change which occurred in 2009.

Additionally, the book features beautiful illustrations of artist and longtime LWVGC member, Nancy Martt. Mrs. Martt, 93, taught at many places including the Chagrin Valley Art Center. Her artwork was used in the fourth edition of Here's Cuyahoga County, and she again allowed LWVGC to use any drawings they chose.

Nancy Martt Illustration - Heritage Cabin  Nancy Martt Illustration - Port of Cleveland

Printable PDF of Here’s Cuyahoga County 

For more information about the League of Women Voters of Greater Cleveland, please visit: