Mary Louise Madigan: (216) 698-2521; firstname.lastname@example.org
CUYAHOGA COUNTY, OH - The Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter (CCAS) is reminding all Ohio dog owners that the deadline to purchase your required dog license is Tuesday, January 31, 2023.
The State of Ohio requires that all dogs aged three (3) months and older must have a current dog license every year. Licenses purchased after the deadline are assessed a $20 fee, per Ohio law, doubling the price of the license. CCAS urges dog owners to buy now and avoid the penalty fees.
Dogs that are lost can easily be reunited with their legal owner when wearing a dog license and allow for longer stray hold times (up to 14 days instead of 72 hours), should they enter a shelter.
Dog licenses can be purchased for different lengths of time:
- a one (1) year tag is $20,
- a three (3) year tag is $60,
- a permanent lifetime tag is $200.
Cuyahoga County residents can buy their dog licenses at local Discount Drug Mart or Pet Supply Plus Stores, at the shelter, or online at www.cuyahogadogs.com.
Fees from dog licenses solely support the Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter and the lost and stray dogs it temporarily houses until reunited with their owners or adopted to new homes.Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter is open to the public Tuesday through Saturday from 10:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. and Sunday from 12:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. Available pets can always be viewed at www.cuyahogadogs.com.