Cuyahoga County Council Awards Funding For Veterans Services and Higher Education Scholarship Program

Posted on

On August 9th at the Regular Council Meeting, Cuyahoga County Council approved awards for unspent funds returned to the County’s General Fund by the Veterans Service Commission. The Veterans Services Fund was initiated in 2012 to ensure that any funds unspent by the Veterans Service Commission would be used for other programs and services that directly benefit veterans residing in Cuyahoga County. The total amount returned in 2016 is $355,681.00 and will go to support the following programs and services:

  • Scholarships for veterans residing in Cuyahoga County and attending Cuyahoga Community College or Cleveland State University - $56,138.00
  • Towards Employment Career Pathway Services for job search and placement services for veterans - $15,000.00
  • The Cuyahoga County Office of Homeless Services for the Supportive Services for Veterans Families program and move-in kits for veterans entering permanent supportive housing in Cuyahoga County - $100,000.00
  • The Legal Aid Society of Cleveland for its Legal Services for U.S. Veterans program - $65,000.00
  • United Way 2-1-1 for its Help2Veterans program - $65,000.00
  • Joseph’s Home for wraparound services and transition to permanent housing for medically fragile, homeless veterans in Cuyahoga County - $24,543.00

Council will also award a one-time contribution of $50,000.00 to the Greater Cleveland Fisher House for the creation of a facility to provide free lodging for families of veterans hospitalized and being treated at area hospitals.

Cuyahoga County is the only County in the State of Ohio that redirects unspent money from the County’s Veterans Service Commission to other programs and services that specifically provide assistance for veterans. “This program reflects our priority to support those who have served our nation,” states Councilman Dave Greenspan. Since 2013, Cuyahoga County has appropriated nearly $1.5 million dollars to help veterans throughout the County. The award resolution was sponsored by the following Councilmembers: Dave Greenspan, Pernel Jones Jr., Shontel Brown, Anthony T. Hairston, Jack Schron, Charles M. Germana and Yvonne M. Conwell.