A Tail-Wagging Deadline! Secure Your Dogs License Now

Posted on

Reminder to purchase a dog license before the January 31 deadline

 

CUYAHOGA COUNTY, OH – The Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter reminds all Ohio dog owners that the deadline to purchase a required dog license is Wednesday, January 31, 2024. The cost of a one-year dog license is $20. Dog licenses must be current for the calendar year. Licenses can be purchased for terms of one or three years and can also be purchased for the lifetime of the dog.

The State of Ohio requires that all dogs aged three months and older have a current dog license. Licenses purchased after the deadline are assessed an additional $20 fee, per Ohio law, doubling the price of a one-year license. Dog owners are encouraged to buy now and avoid the penalty fees.

Lost dogs can be reunited with their legal owner more easily when wearing a dog license. A dog license also allows for longer stray hold times (up to 14 days instead of 72 hours), should the dog enter a shelter.

Dog licenses can be purchased for terms of one or three years, or for the lifetime of the dog:

  • a one-year tag is $20,
  • a three-year tag is $60,
  • a lifetime tag is $200.

Cuyahoga County residents can buy their dog licenses at local Discount Drug Mart locations or Pet Supply Plus stores, at the Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter, or online.

Fees from dog licenses support the Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter and the lost and stray dogs it houses until reunited with their owners or adopted to new homes.

Cuyahoga County Animal Shelter is open to the public Tuesday through Saturday from 10:30 a.m.-4:00 p.m. and Sunday from 12:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. Adoptable pets can be viewed at cuyahogadogs.com.