4COM Home Repair Loan Program Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Four Component (4COM) Home Repair Loan Program?

The Four Component (4COM) Home Repair Loan Program is designed to maintain the integrity of neighborhoods throughout Cuyahoga County. These loans are NOT a conventional equity loan or equity line of credit. Funding is limited to repair and/or replace major housing components: such as: Roof, Electrical, Furnace and Plumbing – including sanitary sewer connections.

Who is eligible for the Program?

An applicant must meet all of the following eligibility requirements:

1.) Must meet Income guidelines set forth by U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development (HUD);
2.) You must own and reside in the home as your primary residence;
3.) You must be current on your property taxes or provide proof of a signed tax repayment plan with the Cuyahoga County Treasurer;
4.) You must have a homeowner’s insurance policy in place;
5.) Bankruptcies must be discharged (for a minimum of two years);
6.) Your home must be located in an eligible community

I have already received a Housing Rehabilitation Loan from the Cuyahoga County Dept. of Development (CCDOD). Can I apply for another loan?

Repeat applicants that have previously participated in the housing rehabilitation loan program are eligible to re-apply after a 5-year waiting period has elapsed from the original case close-out date for a 4COM loan. Funding is limited and priority will be given to first time applicants who have not previously received a Home Rehabilitation Loan from our department.

I am in a Reverse Mortgage. Can I apply for this loan?

Currently, we can accept applications from homeowners who are in a reverse mortgage. However, based on changes in future funding regulations this is subject to change.

When am I required to repay the loan?

The interest rate and terms of the loan are based on annual gross income and your ability to repay the loan. Homeowners who are age 62 and over, and meet all eligibility requirements will be offered a 0% deferred loan. All loans are secured by a lien on the property.

My household income is only $100 above the maximum income limit. Can I still receive assistance?

No, the total annual gross household income may not exceed the maximum limit.

What types of improvements are ineligible?

Normal home repair or maintenance items are ineligible. Such as:

  • Remodeling (kitchen, bathroom)
  • Driveways/sidewalks
  • Room additions
  • Basement Waterproofing
  • Window Replacement
  • Painting
  • Siding
  • Landscaping
  • Flooring
  • Luxury Items (pools, hot tubs, etc)

How do I apply for the program?

You may contact the CCDOD office at 216-443-7260 to request a Four Component (4COM) Home Repair Loan Program application, or you may download the application.

Who is responsible for the rehabilitation of my home?

The Contract for rehabilitation will be between the homeowner and the contractor. The homeowner is responsible for communicating with the contractor to schedule the work necessary to complete the terms of the contract. The CCDOD is not a party to the Contract and assumes no liability for any problems that may occur between the contractor and the homeowner. When requested by the homeowner, and depending upon availability, the CCDOD may provide additional administrative assistance once the project has started.

Do I have to find the contractors to work on my home?

Yes, the homeowner is responsible for choosing their contractor(s). However, contractors must be qualified and registered with the CCDOD before a contract with the homeowner is signed. For bidding purposes, a Bid Request Form describing the scope of work will be provided to the homeowner by the CCDOD. The homeowner is then to obtain contractor bid proposals on their own. The homeowner may also request a list of contractors that are currently registered with the CCDOD to bid on the project.

What communities are eligible to participate in the program?

Any community that is within Cuyahoga County limits may participate except the Entitlement Cities listed below. If you live in one these entitlement cities please call the telephone number provided to inquire about their rehabilitation programs:

Cleveland - (216) 664-2790
Euclid - (216) 298-4625
Cleveland Heights - (216) 291-4869
Lakewood - (216) 529-5906
East Cleveland - (216) 681-2388
Parma - (216) 661-7372