

MINUTES

CUYAHOGA COUNTY EDUCATION, ENVIRONMENT & SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 24, 2014 CUYAHOGA COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE HEADQUARTERS COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 4TH FLOOR 10:00 AM

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Simon called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Ms. Simon asked Deputy Clerk Carter to call the roll. Committee members Simon, Germana and Connally were in attendance and a quorum was determined. Committee members Hairston and Schron entered the meeting shortly after the roll call was taken. Councilmembers Conwell, Miller and Greenspan were also in attendance.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT RELATED TO THE AGENDA

No public comments were given.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM THE SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 MEETING

A motion was made by Mr. Germana, seconded by Ms. Connally and approved by unanimous vote to approve the minutes of the September 3, 2014 meeting.

- 5. MATTERS REFERRED TO COMMITTEE
 - a) <u>O2014-0023</u>: An Ordinance amending Chapter 202 of the Cuyahoga County Code by adding Section 202.18 to establish a Department of Sustainability and to provide for the powers and duties of the Director of Sustainability.

Mr. David Beach, Director of GreenCityBlueLake Institute for the Cleveland Museum of Natural History; Mr. Mike Piepsny, Executive Director of Environmental Health Watch; Ms. Sally Martin, Housing Manager for the City of South Euclid; The Honorable Mike Foley, State Representative for Ohio House District 14; Rev. Aaron Philips, Pastor of Sure House Baptist Church ; Mr. Tom Einhouse, Vice President of Real Estate Development for Playhouse Square; Mr. James Wilbanks, Energy Engineer at The Brewer-Garrett Company; Ms. Nicole Stika, Director of Energy Programs for the Council of Smaller Enterprises (COSE); and Ms. Shannelle Smith, Director of Emerald Cities Collaborative, addressed the Committee in support of Ordinance No. 02014-0023. Discussion ensued.

Committee members and Councilmembers asked questions of Mr. Beach, Mr. Piepsny, Ms. Martin, Representative Foley, Rev. Philips, Mr. Einhouse, Mr. Wilbanks, Ms. Stika and Ms. Smith pertaining to the item, which they answered accordingly.

Councilmembers Connally, Brady, Germana and Conwell requested to have their names added as additional sponsors to Ordinance No. O2014-0023.

No further legislative action was taken on Ordinance No. O2014-0023.

6. MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

There was no miscellaneous business.

7. OTHER PUBLIC COMMENT

Mr. Eric Small addressed the Committee regarding issues of concern to him relating to Ordinance No. O2014-0023, an Ordinance amending Chapter 202 of the Cuyahoga County Code by adding Section 202.18 to establish a Department of Sustainability.

8. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to discuss, Chairwoman Simon adjourned the meeting at 11:50 a.m., without objection.