

MINUTES

CUYAHOGA COUNTY HUMAN RESOURCES, APPOINTMENTS & EQUITY COMMITTEE MEETING TUESDAY, AUGUST 6, 2013 CUYAHOGA COUNTY JUSTICE CENTER COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 1ST FLOOR 10:00 AM

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Conwell called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Ms. Conwell asked Deputy Clerk Muller to call the roll. Committee members Conwell, Rogers, Gallagher, Germana and Simon were in attendance and a quorum was determined. Councilmember Miller was also in attendance.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT RELATED TO THE AGENDA

No public comments related to the agenda were given.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM THE JULY 2, 2013 MEETING

A motion was made by Mr. Germana, seconded by Mr. Gallagher and approved by unanimous vote to approve the minutes of the July 2, 2013 meeting.

- 5. MATTERS REFERRED TO COMMITTEE
 - a) <u>M2013-0022</u>: A Motion confirming the County Executive's appointment of individuals to serve on the Cuyahoga County Debarment Review Board, and declaring the necessity that this Motion become immediately effective:
 - 1) Brandon D. Cox
 - 2) Roland J. DeMonte
 - 3) Evan T. Byron

In lieu of her attendance, Ms. Nailah Byrd, Inspector General, sent in a written statement to the Committee regarding the role of the Office of the Inspector General as it relates to the debarment process in accordance with Chapter 505 of the Cuyahoga County Code, which was read into the record by Deputy Clerk Muller.

Mr. Brandon D. Cox and Mr. Roland J. DeMonte addressed the Committee regarding their nominations to serve on the Cuyahoga County Debarment Review Board. Mr. Evan T. Byron was unable to attend the meeting. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Cox and Mr. DeMonte pertaining to their experience, expertise and qualifications, which they answered accordingly.

On a motion by Mr. Germana with a second by Ms. Simon, Motion No. M2013-0022 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda with a recommendation for passage under second reading suspension of rules.

- b) <u>M2013-0023</u>: A Motion confirming the County Executive's appointment of individuals to serve on the Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board of Cuyahoga County, and declaring the necessity that this Motion become immediately effective:
 - 1) Steve Killpack
 - 2) Eileen Saffran

Ms. Lindy Burt, Special Assistant to County Executive FitzGerald, and Mr. David Merriman, Deputy Chief of Staff for Health and Human Services; addressed the Committee regarding Motion No. M2013-0023. Discussion ensued.

Mr. Steve Killpack addressed the Committee regarding his nomination to serve on the Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board of Cuyahoga County. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Killpack pertaining to his experience, expertise and qualifications, which he answered accordingly.

In lieu of her attendance, Ms. Eileen Saffran sent in a written statement to the Committee, which was read into the record by Deputy Clerk Muller.

On a motion by Mr. Germana with a second by Mr. Rogers, Motion No. M2013-0023 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda with a recommendation for passage under second reading suspension of rules.

- c) <u>M2013-0024</u>: A Motion confirming the County Executive's appointment of individuals to serve on the Cuyahoga Regional HIV Health Services Planning Council, and declaring the necessity that this Motion become immediately effective:
 - 1) Gwendolyn Bragg
 - 2) Susan DiCocco
 - 3) Melissa Federman
 - 4) Jefferrey Hall
 - 5) Richard Jason
 - 6) Bryan Jones
 - 7) Charles Mitchell
 - 8) James Stevenson
 - 9) Leisha Yarbrough-Franklin
 - 10) Kimberlin Dennis

Ms. Gwendolyn Bragg, Mr. Richard Jason, Mr. Bryan Jones, Mr. James Stevenson, Ms. Leisha Yarbrough-Franklin and Ms. Kimberlin Dennis addressed the Committee regarding their nominations to serve on the Cuyahoga Regional HIV Health Services Planning Council. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Ms. Bragg, Mr. Jason, Mr. Jones, Mr. Stevenson, Ms. Franklin and Ms. Dennis pertaining to their experience, expertise and qualifications, which they answered accordingly.

In lieu of their attendance, Ms. Susan DiCocco, Ms. Melissa Federman, Mr. Jefferrey Hall and Mr. Charles Mitchell sent in written statements to the Committee.

On a motion by Mr. Germana with a second by Ms. Simon, Motion No. M2013-0024 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda with a recommendation for passage under second reading suspension of rules.

d) <u>R2013-0173</u>: A Resolution approving the adoption of various changes to the Cuyahoga County Non-Bargaining Classification Plan, and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective.

Ms. Elise Hara, Director of Human Resources, and Ms. Bonnie Teeuwen, Director of Public Works; addressed the Committee regarding Resolution No. R2013-0173. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Ms. Hara and Ms. Teeuwen pertaining to the item, which they answered accordingly.

On a motion by Mr. Germana with a second by Ms. Conwell, Resolution No. R2013-0173 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda with a recommendation for passage under second reading suspension of rules.

6. MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

Ms. Conwell asked that Deputy Clerk Muller coordinate with Ms. Hara to have the Human Resource Analysts throughout the various County departments attend the September 17th Human Resources, Appointments & Equity Committee meeting.

7. OTHER PUBLIC COMMENT

No other public comments were given.

8. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned by Chairwoman Conwell at 11:26 a.m., without objection.