

## **MINUTES**

CUYAHOGA COUNTY HUMAN RESOURCES, APPOINTMENTS & EQUITY
COMMITTEE MEETING
THURSDAY, JULY 6, 2017
CUYAHOGA COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE HEADQUARTERS
C. ELLEN CONNALLY COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 4<sup>TH</sup> FLOOR
10:00 AM

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairwoman Brown called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Ms. Brown asked Assistant Deputy Clerk Culek to call the roll. Committee members Brown, Gallagher, Jones, Miller and Conwell were in attendance and a quorum was determined.

3. PUBLIC COMMENT RELATED TO THE AGENDA

There were no public comments given.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM THE JUNE 20, 2017 MEETING

A motion was made by Ms. Brown, seconded by Mr. Miller and approved by unanimous vote to approve the minutes from the June 20, 2017 meeting.

- 5. MATTERS REFERRED TO COMMITTEE
  - a) R2017-0118: A Resolution confirming the County Executive's appointment of various individuals to serve on the Cuyahoga County Tax Incentive Review Council for the term ending 12/31/2018, and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective:

- 1) Lisa Rocco
- 2) Marionette Richardson-Scott
- 3) Joseph E. Farris
- 4) John P. Dobeck

Mr. Eddy Kraus, Director of the Department of Regional Collaboration, addressed the Committee regarding Resolution No. R2017-0118. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Kraus pertaining to the item, which he answered accordingly.

Ms. Lisa Rocco, Ms. Marionette Richardson-Scott and Mr. Joseph Farris addressed the Committee regarding their nomination to serve on the Cuyahoga County Tax Incentive Review Council. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Ms. Rocco, Ms. Richardson-Scott and Mr. Farris pertaining to their experience, expertise and qualifications, which they answered accordingly.

A motion was made by Ms. Brown, seconded by Mr. Miller and approved by unanimous vote to amend Resolution No. R2017-0118 by inserting "and reappointment" after "appointment" in the title and inserting "Reappointments" in the third Whereas clause before the following list of individuals:

- 1) Lisa Rocco, Cuyahoga County Fiscal Office;
- 2) Marionette Richardson-Scott, Cuyahoga County Planning Commission;
- 3) Joseph E. Farris, Cuyahoga County Treasurer's Office; and

On a motion by Ms. Brown with a second by Ms. Conwell, Resolution No. R2017-0118 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda with a recommendation for passage under second reading suspension of the rules, as amended.

b) R2017-0119: A Resolution confirming the County Executive's reappointment of The Honorable Michael Procuk to serve on the Cuyahoga County Planning Commission representing the Cuyahoga Region for the term 3/25/2017 - 3/24/2020, and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective.

Mr. Kraus addressed the Committee regarding Resolution No. R2017-0119. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Kraus pertaining to the item, which he answered accordingly.

In lieu of his attendance, The Honorable Michael Procuk submitted a written statement to the Committee.

On a motion by Ms. Brown with a second by Mr. Miller, Resolution No. R2017-0119 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda with a recommendation for passage under second reading suspension of the rules.

6. MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

There was no miscellaneous business.

7. OTHER PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments given.

8. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to discuss, Chairwoman Brown adjourned the meeting at 10:38 a.m., without objection.