

MINUTES

CUYAHOGA COUNTY HUMAN RESOURCES, APPOINTMENTS & EQUITY

COMMITTEE MEETING

TUESDAY, JULY 18, 2017

CUYAHOGA COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE HEADQUARTERS

C. ELLEN CONNALLY COUNCIL CHAMBERS – 4TH FLOOR

10:30 AM

1. CALL TO ORDER

Vice-Chairman Gallagher called the meeting to order at 10:35 a.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Mr. Gallagher asked Deputy Clerk Carter to call the roll. Committee members Gallagher, Jones and Miller were in attendance and a quorum was determined. Committee member Conwell entered the meeting after the roll call was taken. Committee member Brown was absent from the meeting.

PUBLIC COMMENT RELATED TO THE AGENDA

There were no public comments given.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM THE JULY 6, 2017 MEETING

A motion was made by Mr. Miller, seconded by Mr. Jones and approved by unanimous vote to approve the minutes of the July 6, 2017 meeting.

- MATTERS REFERRED TO COMMITTEE
 - a) <u>R2017-0123:</u> A Resolution adopting various changes to the Cuyahoga County Non-bargaining Classification Plan, and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective.

Mr. Albert Bouchahine, Manager of Classification & Compensation, addressed the Committee regarding Resolution No. R2017-0123. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Bouchahine pertaining to the item, which he answered accordingly.

On a motion Mr. Gallagher with a second by Mr. Jones, Resolution No. R2017-0123 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda with a recommendation for passage under second reading suspension of the rules.

- b) R2017-0127: A Resolution confirming the County Executive's reappointment of various individuals to serve on the Cleveland-Cuyahoga County Port Authority Board of Directors for various terms, and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective:
 - 1) Chris Ronayne for a term ending 10/31/2019.
 - 2) Jan L. Roller for a term ending 9/30/2020.

Mr. Edward Kraus, Director of Regional Collaboration, addressed the Committee regarding Resolution No. R2017-0127. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Kraus pertaining to the item, which he answered accordingly.

In lieu of his attendance, Mr. Christopher Ronayne submitted a written statement to the Committee.

On a motion by Mr. Gallagher with a second by Mr. Jones, Resolution No. R2017-0127 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda for second reading.

- c) R2017-0128: A Resolution confirming the County Executive's appointment and reappointment of various individuals to serve on the Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board of Cuyahoga County for various terms, and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective:
 - 1) Appointments for the term 7/1/2017 6/30/2021:
 - a) Ken Silliman Max Rodas
 - b) Ernie Cade
 - c) Hugh Shannon

- 2) Reappointments for an unexpired term ending 6/30/2020:
 - a) J. Robert Fowler
 - b) Steve Killpack
 - c) Mary Warr
 - d) Cassi Handler

Mr. Gallagher introduced a proposed substitute to Resolution No. R2017-0128. Discussion ensued.

A motion was then made by Mr. Miller, seconded by Mr. Jones and approved by unanimous vote to accept the proposed substitute.

Mr. Max Rodas addressed the Committee regarding his nomination to serve on the Alcohol, Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board of Cuyahoga County.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Rodas pertaining to his experience, expertise and qualifications, which he answered accordingly.

In lieu of their attendance, Mr. Ernie Cade, Mr. Steve Killpack and Ms. Cassi Handler submitted written statements to the Committee.

On a motion by Mr. Gallagher with a second by Mr. Jones, Resolution No. R2017-0128 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda for second reading.

d) R2017-0129: A Resolution confirming the County Executive's appointment and reappointment of various individuals to serve on the Cuyahoga County Community Improvement Corporation Board of Trustees for various terms, and declaring the necessity that this Resolution become immediately effective:

1) Appointments:

- a) Kahlil Seren (County Class) for an unexpired term ending 10/15/2017.
- b) Dennis G. Kennedy (County Class) for an unexpired term ending 10/15/2017.
- c) Luis Cartegena (County Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/31/2018.
- d) Joseph E. Farris (County Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/1/2018.
- e) W. Christopher Murray, II (County Class) for an unexpired term ending 3/31/2020.

- f) Radhika Reddy (Private Sector Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/1/2018.
- g) Tania Menesse (Private Sector Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/1/2019.
- h) Jeff Bechtel (Private Sector Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/1/2020.
- i) Michael Obi (Private Sector Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/1/2019.
- j) Richard Perry (Private Sector Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/1/2020.
- k) Brian Hall (Private Sector Class) for an unexpired term ending 1/1/2019.

2) Reappointments:

- a) Kahlil Seren (County Class) for the term 10/16/2017 10/15/2020.
- b) Dennis G. Kennedy (County Class) for the term 10/16/2017 10/15/2020.
- c) Luis Cartegena (County Class) for the term 2/1/2018 1/31/2021.
- d) Joseph E. Farris (County Class) for the term 1/2/2018 1/1/2021.
- e) Radhika Reddy (Private Sector Class) for the term 1/2/2018 1/1/2021.

Mr. Kahlil Seren, addressed the Committee regarding his nomination to serve on the Cuyahoga County Community Improvement Corporation Board of Trustees. Discussion ensued.

Committee members asked questions of Mr. Seren pertaining to his experience, expertise and qualifications, which he answered accordingly.

In lieu of their attendance, Ms. Radhika Reddy, Mr. Jeff Bechtel, Mr. Michael Obi and Mr. Brian Hall submitted written statements to the Committee.

On a motion by Ms. Conwell with a second by Mr. Jones, Resolution No. R2017-0129 was considered and approved by unanimous vote to be referred to the full Council agenda for second reading.

6. MISCELLANEOUS BUSINESS

There was no miscellaneous business.

7. OTHER PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments given.

8. ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to discuss, Vice-Chairman Gallagher adjourned the meeting at 11:34 a.m., without objection.