2017 Press Releases

Further links to past Press Releases can be found by selecting the year links below.


Cuyahoga County Council Members Sworn In, Council Leadership Elected at First Meeting of the New Year

Posted on

Media Contact: Joseph Nanni (216) 698-2520 jnanni@cuyahogacounty.us


Cleveland, OH - On Tuesday, January 3, 2017, at the beginning of the fourth session of Cuyahoga County Council, Cuyahoga County Council members Dale Miller, Jack Schron, Pernel Jones, Jr., and Anthony T. Hairston, reelected in November 2016; Councilman Scott Tuma, elected in November 2016; and Councilwoman Nan Baker, appointed in January 2017, were sworn in to their offices.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Council held an Organizational Meeting to establish Council leadership and a schedule of meetings for 2017 and 2018. Council members elected Dan Brady and Pernel Jones, Jr. to serve as the body’s President and Vice President, respectively, for the upcoming two-year session.

The first regular meeting of Council will be held at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 10, 2017. Members of the public are encouraged to attend Council meetings, located in the C. Ellen Connally Council Chambers on the 4th floor of the County Administrative Headquarters, or to watch via Council’s live stream at http://council.cuyahogacounty.us/. Complimentary parking passes for the attached garage at 900 Prospect are available for members of the public attending Council and Committee meetings.