About Us

The Cuyahoga County LEPC is a local organization mandated by the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986 as well as Section 3750.03 of the Ohio Revised Code. The Cuyahoga County LEPC was formed in September 1987 and we are one of 88 LEPCs in Ohio, which chose to make counties the geographical focus for its local right-to-know requirements. The Cuyahoga County LEPC provides the following general services to the public, other government agencies, and regulated facilities:

  • Data Processing for annual chemical inventories for 900+ facilities
  • Planning for emergency response to emergency releases of hazardous substances
  • Receipt of emergency notifications when hazardous substance releases occur
  • Providing information about local chemical inventories and emergency releases to the public
  • Coordination of training and exercises for emergency response

Cuyahoga County is one of the most populous counties in Ohio, with 1.2 million people and 59 jurisdictions. The number of facilities and local jurisdictions makes the Cuyahoga County effort very complex, one which requires community and facility initiative to guarantee maximum success.

The LEPC typically processes ~50 annual emergency release/spill notifications and close to 200 requests for information regarding chemicals stored at local facilities near neighborhoods and businesses.

Initial notification for emergency releases of hazardous substances can be reported to the CECOMS Spill Line at 216-771-1365.

The LEPC receives staff support from the Cuyahoga County Office of Emergency Management. LEPC members represent a broad spectrum of community interests.

LEPC Bylaws

Hazardous Substances/Chemical Spills

To submit a Public Records Request regarding hazardous substances stored in Cuyahoga County or chemical spills, complete the Information Request Form. 

Information Request Form

LEPC Officers

ChairScott BroskiNortheast Ohio Regional Sewer District
Vice ChairAlan FinkelsteinStrongsville Fire/SERT Hazmat (retired)


LEPC Members

Wade BalserOhio Environmental Protection Agency
Justin BechtelCleveland Clinic
Scott BroskiNortheast Ohio Regional Sewer District
Ellen DempseyHowmet Aerospace
Steve DennisUniversity Hospitals
Elisa DeRoseCuyahoga County Board of Health
Alan FinkelsteinStrongsville Fire Department (ret.)
Jim GravenCity of Olmsted Falls
Paige HerronCase Western University
Robert HowertonCleveland St. University
Roger KleinGreater Cleveland Red Cross
Bryan KlossCuyahoga County Emergency Management
Chris KosturaOrange Village Police Department
Sheldon LustigNational Association of Railroad Safety Consultation
Troy OnestiOhio Department of Transportation
Randy SolganikCity Plating
Serena SteeleCOAD/Cuyahoga County Emergency Management
Fred SzaboCleveland Office of Emergency Management
Dave TelbanCleveland Fire Department
Bob TuleviskiRTA Police Department
Allen TurnerNASA
Mark VedderSolon Fire Department
Ingrid WagnerAmerican Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP)/American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA)
Jason WheelerMcGean
Nick ZamiskaBrecksville Fire Dept


LEPC Subcommittee Chairs

Scott BroskiManagement Subcommittee
Richard Nickerson & Dave TelbanEmergency Preparedness & Response Subcommittee
John Rhodes & Nick ZamiskaSpills Subcommittee
Ingrid Wagner & Ellen DempseyFacilities Subcommittee
Alan FinkelsteinTraining Subcommittee
Sheldon LustigTransportation Subcommittee